Lost Footsteps
Lost Footsteps
Origin of the Kokang

1600s - 19th century

Origin of the Kokang

room China

မြန်မာဘာသာဖြင့် ဖတ်ရန်

Kokang (now a ""Self-Administered Zone"") has a particularly interesting history. In the mid-1600s, the Ming dynasty in China was falling fast to the invading Manchus. The last Ming emperor (the Yongli Emperor, better remembered as the Prince of Gui) fled first to Yunnan and eventually across the border to Ava (Inwa). The new Manchu ""Qing"" dynasty would rule until 1912.In the train of the last emperor were tens of thousands (perhaps more) of Ming loyalists. One of these was a man named Yang Gaosho, born in Nanjing in 1622 to a old military family. He followed the Prince of Gui to Yunnan, his son later settling in what is now Kokang, clearing the area of bandits and becoming its hereditary chief. Their descendants would rule for over two hundred years, first as the ""Heng of Kokang"", then (under the British) as the ""Myosa of Kokang"". In August 1947 the British raised Sao Yang Wen Pin to the title of ""Saopha"". The last Saopha, Sao Edward Yang Kyein Sai, died in 1971. The people of Kokang speak Mandarin Chinese; like the Han Chinese of Yunnan, they are relatively recent (17th-19th century) migrants to the region. Their presence in modern-day Myanmar is a living relic of the Qing conquest and the desperate westward flight of the Prince of Gui. Image is of the Qing conquest of western Yunnan.

Explore more in Medieval and Early Modern Myanmar and its Global Connections (900 - 1824AD)

Explore more in British Burma (1826-1942)

Explore more in Myanmar's Neighbours Past and Present

Explore all Topics